Punahou Alumni Association

The Punahou Alumni Association (PAA) is a private nonprofit organization that exists to organize and participate in educational, social, and cultural programs that reach, connect and engage the Punahou Alumni community while supporting the core mission of Punahou School.

PAA is a private nonprofit organization, which works closely with Punahou School and the Office of Alumni Relations. The association was officially founded in 1906, though informal alumni meetings are documented as early as 1864. It has an elected Board of Directors through which its activities and services to alumni and the School are realized.

Membership is Automatic

Anyone who attended Punahou for at least one semester is already considered a member. There are no annual membership dues. Members need not have graduated from Punahou School, but must be part of a class year that has already graduated. Punahou Summer School alone does not qualify for membership.

Download PAA Bylaws

Board Members

  • President, Christian Fern ’93
  • President-Elect, Laura Ing ’71 Baker
  • First Vice-President, Leeanne Jim ’87 Phillips
  • Second Vice-President, Denise Eldredge Sagapolutele ’91
  • Treasurer, Stephanie Chun ’97 Nomura
  • Secretary, Kent Kasaoka ’94
  • Past-President, Randy Kam ’76
  • Chris Abbott ’99
  • David Akinaka ’88
  • Wayne Chi ’00
  • Claire Schiff ’05 Thompson


Awards and Recognition
David Akinaka ’88


Oral History


Denise Eldredge Sagapolutele ’91



Notice of Annual Meeting

The annual meeting of the membership of the Punahou Alumni Assocatition will be held on Wednesday, June 6, 2018, at 5:15 p.m., at the President’s Pavilion on the Punahou Campus. At the annual meeting, the 2018-2019 officers and directors will be elected, reports will be provided on the programs and finances of the Association, and our 2018 alumni award winners will be recognized and honored. A light dinner, beer and wine will be provided. If you have any questions, please contact Doug Rigg, Director of Alumni Relations, at (808) 944-5740.

Slate of Incoming Officers and Directors

At its meeting on April 5, 2018, the Nominating Committee of the Board of Directors of the Punahou Alumni Association approved the following slate of incoming officers and directors. Elections for officers and directors will take place at the Annual Meeting.

The following officers are nominated to serve for a term of one (1) year, commencing July 1, 2018:

Name Position
Leeanne Jim ’87 Phillips President-Elect
Laura Ing ’71 Baker President (election is automatic)
Christian Fern ’93 Past President (election is automatic)
Denise Eldredge Sagapolutele ’91 1st Vice President
Stephanie Chun ’97 Nomura 2nd Vice President

The following directors have been nominated to serve a term of three (3) years, commencing July 1, 2018:

Colleen Maeda ’85 Bird Director
Debbie Ng-Furuhashi ’87 Director

The following proposed director has been nominated to serve a term of one (1) year, commencing July 1, 2018:

Wayne J. Chi ’00 Director

Returning Board members for 2018 (for information purposes only):

Christopher Abbott ’99 Director (one year remaining)
David Akinaka ’88 Director (two years remaining)
Claire Schiff ’05 Thompson Director (two years remaining)

Note: The positions of Secretary and Treasurer shall be appointed by the Board from among the elected directors.

Voting for officers and directors shall be by written ballot by all members present at the meeting of the members called for such purpose, provided a quorum of members is present. Election shall be by plurality vote. "Write-in" candidates shall be disregarded. There will be no voting by proxy.


Punahou Alumni Association
808.944.5740 Tel
808.955.5361 Fax
Hours: Mon – Fri, 8 a.m. – 4 p.m.